Photo of Jaeyong Song

Jaeyong Song is the AMOREPACIFIC Chaired Professor of Strategy and International Management at Seoul National University (SNU). He received his Ph.D. at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Before joining SNU, he was a Professor of Strategy at Columbia Business School and Yonsei University. He previously served as the Associate Dean of SNU Business School, and is currently the President of the Korea Society of Strategic Management. Since 2013, he has served as the Korea Chapter Chair of AIB. He was an area editor of the Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS), and is on the editorial board of Long Range Planning and Global Strategy Journal. He also served as Vice President of the Korean Academic Society of Business Administration (KASBA) and President of the Association of Korean Management Scholars.

Professor Song was chosen as one of the top 10 business/management gurus in Korea by Maeil Economic Daily. At GE’s Global Leadership Meeting and SABIC’s Year end meeting, he was a keynote speaker. He has received many awards for his research, including the Richman Best Dissertation Award of the Academy of Management, the Hedlund Best Dissertation Award from the European International Business Association, the Maeil Economic Daily Book of the Year Award (for The Samsung Way), and the KASBA Best Researcher Award. Recognition for his teaching includes the Chazen Teaching Innovation Award at Columbia Business School and the SNU Teaching Award.

His research interests span global strategy and innovation, and his work in these areas has appeared in top-tier journals including Management Science, Strategic Management Journal, Organization Science, JIBS, Journal of Management, Research Policy, and California Management Review. He has also published an article in Harvard Business Review. His books, Smart Management and The Samsung Way, became best sellers. The Samsung Way has been published in multiple languages by McGraw Hill and other major publishers abroad.

Last Updated: February 2017

Back to the list of AIB Fellows