Sponsored by Boeing Institute of International Business, Saint Louis University

Chair: Ruth Aguilera, Northeastern University and Ravee Chittoor, Indian School of Business

Application Deadline: January 30, 2015 EXTENDED UNTIL February 15, 2015

The Academy of International Business is organizing a Junior Faculty Consortium, which will be held on Saturday, June 27, 2015 from 9:00 am to 4:30 pm.

All junior faculty active in research and teaching in international business and strategy are invited to participate, although preference will be given to those who have been involved in teaching and/or research in international business and strategy for no more than three years.

The consortium is being structured to provide lots of opportunities for interaction between junior faculty and senior scholars on the faculty panel, and among junior faculty present in a roundtable format. There will also be an opportunity for junior faculty to discuss their research programs or specific research projects, with other junior and senior faculty members in small groups.

The faculty panel for the Junior Faculty Consortium includes distinguished international business scholars with extensive publication records and experience (please note additions and changes are possible to this list):

Ruth Aguilera, Northeastern University (Co-Chair)
Kazuhiro Asakawa, Keio University
Aya Chacar, Florida International University
Sea-Jin Chang, National University of Singapore
Ravee Chittoor, Indian School of Business (Co-Chair)
Nandini Lahiri, Temple University
Anna Lamin, Northeastern University
JT Li, Hong Kong Science and Technology
Jane Lu, University of Melbourne
Sabina Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School
Phanish Puranam, INSEAD
J Ramachandran, IIM Bangalore
Sougata Ray, IIM Calcutta
Gurneeta Vasudeva Singh, University of Minnesota
Jasjit Singh, INSEAD
Luis Vives, ESADE
Michael Witt, INSEAD

Tentative Program (subject to change)

Saturday, June 27, 2015

09:00-09:30 Introductions
9:30-10:30 Session One: Panel Discussion on Research and Publishing
Getting dissertation papers published
Building your research base
10:30-10:45 Coffee Break
10:45-12:15 Session Two: Discussion on Issues of Relevance to Junior Faculty Working toward Tenure
Teaching and Service
Networking and Visibility
12:15-13:15 Lunch
14:15-15:00 Session Three: Small Group Discussion of Junior Faculty Research
15:30-16:30 "Meet with Editors" (with Doctoral Consortium)

Application Requirements:

Please note that space is limited in the program to ensure an optimal level of interaction. To apply, please send an e-mail letter, stating your interest in attending by January 30, 2015 to both: r.aguilera@neu.edu and raveendra_chittoor@isb.edu. Please include the following information in the message:

  1. A one page CV.
  2. A one page description of your research program which highlights a current paper or project in process (on which you would like input), and its international business focus.

Please attach these as two separate Microsoft Word documents, with your last name in the file title (e.g., ChittoorBio.doc and ChittoorResearch.doc).

Application for Travel Stipends

Due to the kind support of the Boeing Institute of International Business, Saint Louis University a small number of travel grants are available for participants in need of financial support to attend the consortium.

If you would like to apply for one of these travel stipends, please include a separate letter with your consortium application email, stating your request to be considered for a stipend. The letter should include the following information:

  1. An estimation of your travel costs including your city and country of departure
  2. The name of your university and whether any travel funds are available from your university
  3. Whether you are currently an AIB member, and
  4. Whether you have previously received a travel stipend from AIB.

NOTE: Separately, Junior Faculty Consortium attendees may also be eligible for Area Scholar Travel Stipends offered by the AIB Foundation. There is a separate application process for these. Information regarding the Area Scholar Travel Stipends can be found at the AIB 2015 Travel Stipends page.

Please e-mail your application (with the subject line "AIB Junior Faculty Consortium") to:
Ruth Aguilera and Ravee Chittoor
Co-Chair, AIB 2015 Junior Faculty Consortium
Email: r.aguilera@neu.edu; raveendra_chittoor@isb.edu