Dear New Faculty Members:

The Academy of International Business (AIB) is now accepting submissions for the Richard N. Farmer Award, sponsored by the Michigan State University CIBER. The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2012.

The Richard N. Farmer Award for the best thesis or dissertation in International Business is open to all Ph.D. and D.B.A. students who will have successfully defended their theses/dissertations between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011. Any topic that contributes to basic or applied knowledge in International Business, broadly defined, is eligible to compete for this award, even if the thesis or dissertation has been submitted to other competitions. The winner will receive a plaque and a US$1,000 cash award. All finalists will receive a US$500 travel stipend to facilitate the presentation of their research at the AIB annual meeting in Washington, DC in 2012.

Richard N. Farmer was President of the AIB from 1977 to 1978, and a professor at Indiana University from 1964 to 1987, where he died at the age of 58. During that period, he played a leading role in the development of the field of International Business. Over 50 doctoral students earned their degrees with him at Indiana University. Known as ‘Farmer’s Crop,’ many of his former students became influential in the AIB.

The nomination packet should include: (1) a letter of nomination from the student's thesis/dissertation supervisor or chair and (2) an abstract, not exceeding 1,250 words (approximately 5 pages at 250 words per page), of the successfully defended thesis or dissertation. The abstract should describe the objective of the doctoral research, along with its theoretical foundation, relation to previous research, methodology, findings, limitations, and contributions to the field of International Business. The criteria for the award are relevance and contribution to the field of International Business, quality of the theoretical framing and the methodology, and quality of the empirical work (where relevant).

The 2012 selection committee consists of Mike Peng (Chair), University of Texas at Dallas; Hyung-Jung Lee, London School of Economics; Anupama Phene, George Washington University; and Kevin Zhou, University of Hong Kong. The committee will select the finalists, who will then be asked to submit their complete theses/dissertations for review and will be expected to make presentations at the AIB annual meeting in Washington, DC from June 30-July 2, 2012.

Submission Instructions

Letters of nomination and the 5-page abstracts should be uploaded electronically by February 28, 2012. Visit the Farmer Award submission site at and click on "Manuscript Submission Form". Please note that you must upload your submission as one document.

In the title page of your abstract, include your current affiliation, mailing address, e-mail address, telephone number, the name of the institution where the Ph.D. or D.B.A. was obtained, the name of your thesis advisor, and six keywords describing the topic of your dissertation.

Professor Mike Peng
Chair, Farmer Award Selection Committee
Jindal Chair of Global Strategy
Jindal School of Management
University of Texas at Dallas