Academy of International Business - Michigan State University
Eppley Center - 667 N. Shaw Ln Rm 7 - East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1121 - USA - Tel: +1-517-432-1452 - Fax: +1-517-432-1009

home membership community events career center publications resources

AIB 2008 Logo AIB 2008 Annual Meeting
Milan, Italy
June 30- July 3, 2008

2008 Richard N. Farmer Dissertation Award

Sponsored by the Indiana University CIBER
Submission Deadline: January 31, 2008

The Richard N. Farmer Award for the best thesis or dissertation in International Business is open to all Ph.D. and D.B.A. students who will successfully have defended their theses/dissertations between 1st January 2007 and 31st December 2007. Any topic that contributes to basic or applied knowledge in International Business, broadly defined, is eligible to compete for this award, even if the thesis or dissertation has been submitted to other competitions. The winner will receive a plaque and a US$1,000 cash award. All finalists will receive a US$500 travel stipend, to facilitate their presenting their research at the AIB annual meeting in Milan, Italy.

Richard N. Farmer was President of the AIB from 1977 to 1978, and a professor at Indiana University from 1964 to 1987, where he died at the age of 58. During that period, he played a leading role in the development of the field of International Business. Over 50 doctoral students earned their degrees with him at Indiana University. Known as 'Farmer's Crop', many of his former students became influential in the AIB. The Indiana University CIBER is proud to sponsor the AIB Farmer Award, in his honor.

The deadline for nominations is 31st January 2008. The nomination packet should include: (1) a letter of nomination from the student's thesis/dissertation supervisor or chair and (2) an abstract, not exceeding 3,750 words (approximately 15 pages, at 250 words per page), of the successfully defended thesis or dissertation. The abstract should describe the objective of the doctoral research, along with its theoretical foundation, relation to previous research, methodology, findings, limitations, and contributions to the field of International Business. The criteria for the award are relevance and contribution to the field of International Business, quality of the theoretical framing and the methodology, and quality of the empirical work (where relevant).

The 2007 selection committee consists of Gary Knight, Florida State University (chair); Jennifer Spencer, George Washington University; Mary Zellmer-Bruhn, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota; and Shige Makino, Chinese University of Hong Kong. The committee will select the finalists, who then will be asked to submit their complete theses/dissertations for review and will be expected to make presentations at the AIB annual meeting in Milan, Italy, to be held on June 30- July 3, 2008.

Letters of nomination and the 15-page abstracts should be sent, by 31st January 2008, to the chair of the selection committee:

Gary Knight
Chair, Farmer Award Selection Committee
College of Business
Florida State University
PO Box 3061110
821 Academic Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306-1110

Tel: +1 850 644 1140
Fax: +1 850 644 4098

Electronic submissions are encouraged. If submission is made in hard copy, please submit five copies of the 15-page abstract, and an e-mail to Gary Knight ( ), to confirm that the packet has been posted.