Academy of International Business - Michigan State University
Eppley Center - 667 N. Shaw Ln Rm 7 - East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1121 - USA - Tel: +1-517-432-1452 - Fax: +1-517-432-1009

home membership community events career center publications resources
Annual Meetings
2012 Meeting
Future Meetings
Past Meetings
Future Meetings
Chapter Meetings

AIB 2006 Annual Meeting
Beijing, China
June 23 - 26, 2006

AIB 2006 Awards

2006 Richard N. Farmer Dissertation Award

Sponsored by the Indiana University CIBER
Submission Deadline: January 31, 2006

The "Richard N. Farmer Award" for the best dissertation in international business is open to all Ph.D. and D.B.A. students who will successfully have defended their dissertations between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2005. Any topic that contributes to basic or applied knowledge in international business broadly defined is eligible to compete for this award, even if the dissertation has been to other competitions. The winner will receive a plaque and a US$1,000 cash award. All finalists will receive a $500 travel stipend to allow them to present their research at the annual meeting in Beijing, China.

Richard N. Farmer was President of the AIB from 1977-78 and a professor at Indiana University from 1964-1987, where he died at the age of 58. During that period he played a leading role in the development of the field of IB. Over 50 doctoral students earned their degrees with him at IU, many of whom became influential in the AIB as "Farmer's Crop". The IU CIBER is proud to sponsor the AIB Farmer's Award in his honor.

The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2006. The nomination packet should include: (1) a letter of nomination from the student's supervising professor and (2) five copies of an abstract, not exceeding 3,750 words (approximately 15 pages at 250 words per page), of the successfully defended dissertation. The abstract should describe the dissertation's objective, theoretical foundation, relation to previous research, methodology, findings, limitations, and contributions to the field of international business. The criteria for the award are the relevance and contribution to the field of International Business, the quality of the theoretical framing and the methodology, and the quality of the empirical work (where relevant).

The 2006 selection committee consists of Cristina Gibson, University of California, Irvine (Chair); Elizabeth Rose, Victoria University of Wellington and University of Hawai'i at Manoa; Gary Knight, Florida State University; and Srilata Zaheer, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota. The committee will select the finalists, who then will be asked to submit their complete dissertations for review and will be expected to make presentations at the AIB annual meeting in Beijing, China, June 23-26, 2006.

Letters of nomination and the 15-page abstracts (as well as an email confirming that the nomination packet has been forwarded) should be sent before January 31, 2006 to the Past Chair of the Committee:

D. Eleanor Westney
Past Chair, Farmer Award Selection Committee
E52-542 M.I.T.
50 Memorial Drive
Cambridge, MA 02142

Tel: 617-253-7998
Fax: 617-253-2660

Temple/AIB Best Paper Award
Sponsored by Temple University's Fox School of Business

In 2002, Temple University's Fox School of Business kindly agreed to endow an award for the best paper at the AIB annual meetings. All of the accepted papers are eligible for the award. The finalists are nominated by the program chair, track chairs and reviewers. The Best Paper Award committee reviews the finalist papers to choose the winning paper and the first runner-up. The winner, announced at the Awards Session on the last day of the conference, receives a plaque and a $750 award.

[Past Temple/AIB Best Paper Award Recipients]

Haynes Prize

The Academy of International Business Foundation and the Eldridge Haynes Memorial Trust award the Haynes Prize for Best Paper. The winning paper must have been accepted for presentation at the AIB conference through the double-blind-review process, and have been written by an author or authors under 40 years of age. The winner is selected by the AIB Best Paper Selection Committee. The author receives a plaque and a US$1000 cash award at the awards session on the last day of the conference.

[Past AIB Haynes Prize Recipients]

JIBS Decade Award
Sponsored by Palgrave MacMillan

The practice of issuing an annual Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) Decade Award was initiated at the 1996 Annual Conference of the Academy of International Business (AIB). The Executive Board of the AIB endorses the award.

The award is designed to recognise the most influential paper published in the Journal of International Business Studies one decade before the Annual Conference (1996 for this year's award). One measure of influence is the degree to which candidate articles have been cited in the ten years following their publication. In order to be considered for this award, a paper must be included among the five most cited papers published in the JIBS Volume of that year.

The Selection Committee consists of a chair (nominated by the Editor-in-Chief) as well as the current and previous Program Chairs of the AIB Annual Conference. The Editor-in-Chief serves as an ex officio member of this committee.

A special session is held at the Annual Conference, during which the winner makes a retrospective presentation of their work, as well as some comments on where the field has progressed and where it should go next. The winner is then recognized at the Awards Session on the last day of the conference.

[More Information on the JIBS Decade Award]

Best Reviewer Award

The Academy of International Business also recognizes the contributions that our reviewers make in putting together a quality program and, as a result, a successful conference. In recognition of these contributions, each year, the Program Committee (the Program Chair and Track Chairs) identify those reviewers that have gone above and beyond the duty of reviewing manuscripts for the conference in providing quality, constructive feedback to the authors. The recipient(s) of the Best Reviewer Award receive a certificate of recognition are also recognized at the Conference Program as well as during the Awards Session on the last day of the conference.