Photo of Timothy M. Devinney

Timothy M Devinney is a University Leadership Chair and Professor at the University of Leeds.  Before joining Leeds he held positions on the faculties of The Australian Graduate School of Management (AGSM), The University of Technology-Sydney (UTS), The University of Chicago, Vanderbilt University and UCLA and has been a visiting faculty member at numerous universities in Europe (Copenhagen Business School and the Universities of Hamburg, Trier, Konstanz, Ulm & Frankfurt) and Asia (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology & City University, Hong Kong) and taught at many others (e.g., CEIBS-Shanghai, Helsinki University of Technology and Helsinki School of Economics).  He has published six books including The Myth of the Ethical Consumer (with P. Auger and G. Eckhardt, 2010) and Managing the Global Corporation (with J. de la Torré and Y. Doz, 2000) and more than eighty articles in leading journals including Management Science, Journal of Business, Academy of Management Review, Journal of International Business Studies, Organization Science, California Management Review, Management International Review, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Business Ethics and Strategic Management Journal.  He is co-editor of the Advances in International Management Series (Emerald) and Associate Editor of AOM Perspectives. He is the recipient of an Alexander von Humboldt Research Award and a Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Fellow.

He was the 2008 Chair of the International Management Division of the Academy of Management.  He is Associate Editor of Academy of Management Perspectives and on the editorial board of over 10 of the leading international journals.  He is one of the largest recipients of Australia Research Council funding in the last five years, having raised over $10,000,000 in supported research from the ARC and other organisations.

Timothy's degrees are:  BSc (Magna Cum Laude - Psychology and Applied Mathematics), Carnegie Mellon University; MA, MBA, PhD (Economics), University of Chicago.

Last Updated: August 2013

Back to the list of AIB Fellows